Tags

, , , , , ,

Thomas, the doubter, would not believe that his Savior has risen from the dead.

(John Chapter 20) 26And after eight days again his disciples were within, and Thomas with them: then came Jesus, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, Peace be unto you.

27Then saith he to Thomas, Reach hither thy finger, and behold my hands; and reach hither thy hand, and thrust it into my side: and be not faithless, but believing.

28And Thomas answered and said unto him, My LORD and my God.

Trivia: Prior to this event, when Mary Magdalene encountered the risen Jesus at the empty tomb, the Lord forbid her from touching Him and said He needs to meet His Father first. This encounter with Thomas seems to contradict His earlier words. It is believed that Thomas, upon seeing the Lord alive before Him in all His glorified state, instantly fell on His knees and exclaimed “My Lord and my God!” That is, without touching Him, nor inserting his fingers on His spear wounds; thus, negating the Scripture-worthiness of the earlier paintings showing Thomas touching Him and inserting a finger on His wounds.

29Jesus saith unto him, Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.

